Billing & Payments FAQ

Related to:


1. How do PRO and PRO+ subscriptions work?

We offer yearly and monthly PRO and PRO+ plans. Please refer to our Pricing page for details. All our plans are recurring, if you want to unsubscribe you should cancel your plan before your prepaid period ends (term end). You may process a cancellation under “My Account” section. Please go to the section PRO subscription cancellation to learn more.

2. How do you get charged for your subscription?

You can sign up for an annual or a monthly PRO plan and your subscription will remain active until you cancel it, as our plans are recurring. That means your credit card will be charged automatically.

3. Why do I see authorization charges in my credit card statement?

After you successfully subscribe to one of our PRO plans, you may see a charge for $1 on your credit card statement. This charge normally appears above the amount you paid to upgrade. Rest assured that these are not actual charges, and they are reversed immediately. Depending on your bank, these charges will disappear from your statement in anywhere from a few minutes to a few weeks.

The explanation for this is simple and relates to credit card verification that Stripe (our payment processor) has to perform with your bank: When you store your card to be charged later, Stripe sends a request to your bank for either a $0 or $1 authorization (different banks permit different amounts) to verify that the card is valid.



4. Why is my credit card being declined?

If your credit card was declined, it’s normally to do with your bank’s automated fraud systems, and not with Typeform or Stripe (our payment processor). If this happens to you, please make sure your credit card information is correct and try to submit it at least 3 times. If the transaction still doesn’t go through, you will need to call your bank to clear the transaction.

Every time Stripe submits a charge request to your bank, their automated systems determine whether or not to accept the charge. In order to determine this, they take several things into consideration, such as account balance and card expiration date.



5. Forms of payment we accept

Typeform is a prepaid online service, so all services are paid for upfront and before use. Because of this, we can’t support purchase orders, payments by PayPal or send you an invoice that requests payment. After any order or payment, an invoice/receipt detailing the transaction, and showing it’s been paid, is sent to the billing email address for your account.

6. Accepted Methods of Payment

We accept all major credit and debit cards:

  • Visa
  • American Express
  • MasterCard


7. Credit card options for billing

Typeform uses Stripe, a very well-established, secure, credit card payment gateway service to process your credit card payment.

8. Payments We Can’t Accept

  • PayPal
  • Bank transfer
  • Wire transfer
  • E-checks and checks from international users


9. Edit Billing Information

While logged in, click on the top right corner to expand your user menu, and select Plan + Billing.

Plan and billing settings

Enter and update your credit card or billing address information in the available fields.

Click the Update button to save the changes.

10. Delete Credit Card Information

You cannot delete your credit card information if you no longer want to use the card from your user menu. For this, you will need to contact support, and we will do it manually. Scroll to the bottom of this page, and click Contact Support.

11. How to view or download your invoices

If you need a copy of your receipts/invoices to present to your accounting department, or for year-end tax calculations, you can view, print, and email receipts from your account.

  1. While logged in, click on the top right corner to expand your user menu, and select Plan + Billing.
  2. You will be able to see all your invoices. Click on the one you’d like to see or print and it will open up in a new window of your browser. You can now print it or save it as a PDF.


12. Incorrect invoice details

We are not able to amend an invoice which has already been issued.

You can edit your invoice details logging into your Typeform account under Plan + Billing menu. Once you have updated your information, all future invoices will be issued as per your last amendments.

13. Adding VAT to your invoice

Please, note that we cannot amend invoices already issued. Therefore, you need to make sure to add all billing details correctly before hitting the payment button. VAT can be added after selecting your country in the “Valid VAT number” field:
Valid_VAT_number

It is important that you do not add your VAT to the “Tax ID” field, as this is an optional field, and not considered when issuing the invoice, so will not help you deduct VAT from the final price.

Once you have entered a valid VAT, this will be deducted from the final price.

14. PRO subscription cancellation

When upgrading to PRO you can pay on a yearly or monthly basis. You can unsubscribe any time. Your cancellation will be effective at the end of the prepaid period (when the year or month expires), as Typeform does not refund for contracts canceled before the contracted period ends. Please refer to this article to learn how to cancel your subscription: How can I cancel my PRO subscription?

Please take into consideration that both plans (yearly and monthly) are recurring, therefore, if you desire to unsubscribe you should cancel your plan before your prepaid period ends (term end). You may process a cancellation under “My Account” section.

When you subscribe to one of our PRO plans, Stripe creates the first invoice and takes note of the timestamp. This timestamp applies when the subscription is terminated. For instance, if you sign up at 8:30 AM UTC on Aug 5, the cancel time will be 8:30 AM UTC on the last day of the term (Sept 5 in this case).

Once the PRO plan expires, all your PRO forms will be set to Private mode and you won’t be able to collect further answers – unless you upgrade again or remove the PRO features from your typeforms. Your results, collected while you were on a PRO plan, will always be available under the Analyze panel.

15. Downgrade due to non-payment

We have an automated process in place which attempts to bill your card several times over a period of 9 days before we downgrade an account for non-payment.

If you get a notification email from our Billing department, and update your billing information before the end of the 9 days, our next automatic charging attempt will be successful and your subscription will carry on without any disruption.

Was this article helpful?
Thanks!