Got a question about Typeform billing and payments? This FAQ section puts some of the most common billing questions to bed.
If you have a billing or payment question that hasn’t been answered here you can submit a ticket to our customer support team using the Contact Support button at the bottom of this page, right above the humans.
1. How do PRO and PRO+ subscriptions work?
We offer yearly and monthly PRO and PRO+ plans, which you can read more about on our Pricing page. All our plans are recurring, and if you want to unsubscribe you should cancel your plan before your prepaid period ends (term end). You may process a cancellation under the My Account section. See the PRO subscription cancellation section for more.
2. How is my subscription charged?
Your credit card will be charged automatically at the end of each billing period. So, if you opt for a monthly plan your card will be charged on the first day of the new monthly billing cycle. If you are on a yearly plan, your card will be charged on the first day of the new yearly cycle.
3. Why do I see authorization charges in my credit card statement?
After you successfully subscribe to one of our PRO or PRO+ plans, you may see a charge for $1 on your credit card statement. This charge normally appears above the amount you paid to upgrade. Rest assured that these are not actual charges, and they are reversed immediately. Depending on your bank, these charges will disappear from your statement in anywhere from a few minutes to a few weeks.
The explanation for this is simple and relates to credit card verification that Stripe (our payment processor) has to perform with your bank: When you store your card to be charged later, Stripe sends a request to your bank for either a $0 or $1 authorization (different banks permit different amounts) to verify that the card is valid.
4. Why is my card being declined?
If your credit card was declined, it’s normally to do with your bank’s automated fraud systems, and not with Typeform or Stripe (our payment processor). If this happens to you, please make sure your credit card information is correct and try to submit it at least three times. If the transaction still doesn’t go through, you will need to call your bank to clear the transaction.
Every time Stripe submits a charge request to your bank, its automated systems determine whether or not to accept the charge. In order to determine this, Stripe takes several things into consideration, including account balance and card expiration date.
5. What forms of payment are acceptable?
Typeform is a prepaid online service, so all services are paid for upfront and before use by credit or debit card. We can’t support purchase orders, payments by PayPal, or send you an invoice that requests payment. However, manual invoices are available for users on PRO+10 plans or higher.
After any order or payment, an invoice/receipt detailing the transaction, and showing it’s been paid, is sent to the billing email address for your account.
6. Which credit/debit cards do you accept?
We accept the following credit and debit cards:
- American Express
7. What payment gateway do you use?
Typeform uses Stripe, a well-established, secure, credit card payment gateway service to process your credit card payment.
8. What payment methods are not accepted?
- Bank transfer
- Wire transfer
- E-checks and checks from international users
9. How do I change my billing information?
1. While logged in, click on the top-right corner to expand your user menu, and select Plan + Billing.
2. Click on the Update information link in the Credit/debit card and billing information section. Enter and update your credit card or billing address information in the available fields. Click the Update button to save the changes.
10. How can I delete my credit card information?
You cannot delete your credit card information from the user menu if you no longer want to use a card. For this, you will need to contact support, and we will do it manually. Scroll to the bottom of this page, and click the Contact Support button right above the humans.
11. How do I view or download my invoices?
If you need a copy of your receipts/invoices to present to your accounting department, or for year-end tax calculations, you can view, print, and email receipts from your account.
1. While logged in, click on the top right corner to expand your user menu, and select Plan + Billing.
2. You will be able to see your last 10 invoices. Click on the one you’d like to see or print and it will open up in a new window of your browser. You can now print it or save it as a PDF.
12. Can I edit my invoice details?
We are not able to amend an invoice which has already been issued.
You can edit your invoice details by logging into your Typeform account under the Plan + Billing menu. Once you have updated your information, all future invoices will be issued as per your last amendments.
13. Can I add VAT to my invoice?
Please note that we cannot amend invoices already issued. Therefore, you need to make sure to add all billing details correctly before hitting the payment button. VAT can be added after selecting your country in the ‘Valid VAT number’ field:
Don’t add your VAT number to the “Tax ID” field, as this is an optional field, and not considered when issuing the invoice, so will not help you deduct VAT from the final price.
Once you have entered a valid VAT number, this will be deducted from the final price.
14. How do I cancel my PRO subscription?
When upgrading to PRO you can pay on a yearly or monthly basis. You can unsubscribe at any time. Your cancellation will be effective at the end of the prepaid period (when the year or month expires), as Typeform does not issue refunds for contracts canceled before the contracted period ends. Please refer to this article to learn how to cancel your PRO subscription.
Please take into consideration that both plans (yearly and monthly) are recurring, therefore, if you wish to unsubscribe you should cancel your plan before your prepaid period ends (term end). You may process a cancellation under My Account section.
When you subscribe to one of our PRO plans, Stripe creates the first invoice and takes note of the timestamp. This timestamp applies when the subscription is terminated. For instance, if you sign up at 8:30 AM UTC on Aug 5, the cancel time will be 8:30 AM UTC on the last day of the term (Sept 5 in this case).
Once the PRO plan expires, all your PRO forms will be set to Private mode and you won’t be able to collect further answers – unless you upgrade again or remove the PRO features from your typeforms. Your results, collected while you were on a PRO plan, will always be available in your Results.
15. What happens if I miss a payment?
We have an automated process in place which attempts to bill your card several times over a period of nine days before we downgrade an account for non-payment.
If you get a notification email from our Billing department, and update your billing information before the end of the nine days, our next automatic charging attempt will be successful and your subscription will carry on without any disruption.
16. What currency will I be billed in?
Subscriptions will be billed in U.S. dollars, Euro, or UK sterling, depending on your location.