Why is there an authorization charge in my credit card statement?
After you successfully subscribe to one of our plans, you may see a charge for $1 on your credit card statement.
This charge normally appears above the amount you paid to upgrade. Rest assured that these are not actual charges, and they are reversed immediately. Depending on your bank, these charges will disappear from your statement in anywhere from a few minutes to a few weeks.
This is a credit card verification that Stripe (our payment processor) has to perform with your bank: When you store your card to be charged later, Stripe sends a request to your bank for either a $0 or $1 authorization (different banks permit different amounts) to verify that the card is valid.
Warning! Regardless of whether or not the authorization is accepted, Stripe reverses this charge immediately. However, even if the bank declines the authorization, you may still see a charge for $1 on your credit card statement until this is cleared by the bank.
Have another billing-related question? Check out our Billing & Payments FAQ.