What happens if I cancel my paid account?
When you move to a lower subscription tier or cancel your paid account by moving to a Free plan, the changes will take effect at the end of the prepaid period. Your typeforms and previously collected responses will not be deleted after the paid plan expires. However, depending on your plan change, your typeforms may be closed to new responses. Read on for more details.
Click a section name to jump to that section:
- How do I downgrade or cancel my plan?
- When does my downgrade or cancellation become effective?
- Can I have a refund for my canceled plan?
- What will happen to my typeforms that use paid plan features?
- What will happen to the other members of my organization after I downgrade or cancel my plan?
- Can I still access previously collected responses after I downgrade or cancel my plan?
How do I downgrade or cancel my plan?
When does my downgrade or cancellation become effective?
When upgrading to a paid plan, you can pay on a yearly or monthly basis. You can unsubscribe by downgrading or canceling your plan at any time. Your downgrade or cancellation will be effective at the end of the prepaid period (when the year or month expires). For example, if you cancel a subscription on Aug 8, but your prepaid period ends on Sept 5, you will still have access to features associated with your paid plan until Sept 5.
When you subscribe to one of our paid plans, Stripe creates the first invoice and takes note of the timestamp. This timestamp applies when the subscription is terminated. For instance, if you sign up at 8:30 AM UTC on Aug 5, the cancellation time will be 8:30 AM UTC on the last day of the term (Sept 5 in this case).
Can I have a refund for my canceled plan?
Typeform does not issue refunds for contracts canceled before the contracted period ends. This means that if you cancel a subscription on Aug 8, but your prepaid period ends on Sept 5, you will still have access to features associated with your paid plan until Sept 5.
Please take into consideration that both plans (yearly and monthly) are recurring. If you wish to unsubscribe, you should do so before your prepaid period ends (term end).
What will happen to my typeforms that use paid plan features?
If you have downgraded to a Free plan, typeforms containing paid features will be set to trial mode once the downgrade goes into effect. You won’t be able to publish the typeform or collect further answers unless you upgrade again or remove the paid features from your typeforms. For a full list of paid features, click here.
Paid features will be shown with a Paid tag in the Create panel after your plan downgrade goes into effect. For example, this typeform uses more than 10 questions, counting the Ending. Questions that break the 10-question limit have a Paid tag, making them easy to identify and remove so the typeform can be published.
Typeforms with paid features will have a Not live tag in the Workspace.
If you have downgraded from one paid plan to another, lower paid plan, your typeforms will not be affected and you can continue to collect responses up to your new response limit, with the exception of typeforms that use Premium themes. Premium themes are available on Plus plans or higher. If your typeform uses a Premium theme and you have downgraded to a Basic plan, your typeform will be set to trial mode and you will need to remove the theme to continue collecting responses.
What will happen to the other members of my organization after I downgrade or cancel my plan?
If you cancel your subscription, or downgrade to a Basic plan, any additional team seats will be removed after your plan downgrade goes into effect. The users who occupied those seats won’t have access to your organization anymore.
If you downgrade from a plan with a higher number of team seats to a plan with a lower number of team seats, the most recently-added team members will be removed from the organization until the new seat limit is met.
For example, let’s say that your account is on a Business plan, and you have invited four team members to your organization to take advantage of the five total team seats offered. If you downgrade to a Plus plan, which allows three total team seats, the two team members you added most recently will be removed from the organization once the plan downgrade goes into effect.
Can I still access previously collected responses after I downgrade or cancel my plan?
If you are on a paid plan and have canceled your plan, your typeforms and previously collected responses will not be deleted after the plan expires.
Have another billing-related question? Check out our Billing & Payments FAQ.